Department of Chemistry, Graduate School of Science, Nagoya University


Introduction to the Course of Study

The Chemistry Department in the Physical Sciences Major has eleven laboratories: the Organic Chemistry Laborayory, the Functional Organic Materials Laborayory, the Bioorganic Chemistry Laborayory, the Noyori Laboratory, the Advanced Materials Laborayory, the Photo-Physical Chemistry Laborayory, the Quantum Chemistry Laborayory, the Nano-Structured Materials Laborayory, the Molecular Architecture Laborayory, the Inorganic Chemistry Laborayory and the Bioinorganic Chemistry Laborayory. It also contains the Organic Synthetic Chemistry Group, the Biochemistry Group, and the Physical Inorganic Chemistry Group. Each laboratory and group in the Chemistry Department is administered in close connection with the Research Center for Materials Science* on both the research and education sides. Additionally, a Chemistry Administration Office, Physical Science Library Room, Engineering Department Glass Workshop, and a G-COE Office are established as support organizations to the various laboratories and groups. Undergraduate students will belong to the Chemistry Department within the School of Physical Science, and the Material Physical Science Major (Chemistry Department), Chemistry Department, and the support organizations become one body to form Chemistry Classes.

* Research Center for Materials Sciences (RCMS): In 1998, the Chemistry Laboratory took on a central role and the Research Center for Materials Science was established. This center was established to create new substances and analyze their functions. The five primary fields participating in research activity are organic material synthesis research, inorganic material synthesis research, material functions research, biological materials research, and molecular catalyst research together with the Chemistry Measurement Device Room.

Organization of the Department of Chemistry

Laboratories / Research Groups